My Diet Of Uncertain Health

It’s been about a year now since I left the wonderful world of being a student. Now I’m lead to assume that being a student you learn how to basically cope with real life and all the pressures and what not but I have to say the most fascinating of all is how your diet of Mum’s spaghetti bolognese or Dad’s quality Sunday roast quickly descends into an outpouring of calories, high cholesterol and the ability to give less of a crap about your overall health, life and relationship with what life calls other people.

Now in my three years of being a student and living with other fellow students it was quite bizarre the fact that we had not only a rota in place so that everyone got a share of cooking for one another but the fact that we ate a lot of vegetables and good sources of carbohydrates like rice and pasta and then obviously meat glorious meat. Usually differing between some form of pasta bake or curry amalgamation. Now speaking to various friends of mine who have gone through the student life it seems to be vastly different. It seems that microwave meals in the Tesco Value range were the equivalent of getting a rump steak in a gourmet restaurant. If you have stuck with me through this post well congratulations because it doesn’t really get any better however it surprises me that you are taking that much interest into knowing about my diet and my healthy(ish) life as a student.

Fast forward to 2016 and I am still alive and well. However a slight difference compared to the last 3 years is that I currently live in an outhouse on a shared property. On top of that I now only have to worry about cooking and cleaning for myself. No one to play a glorified mother to clamp down on responsibility, only me which is fantastic. However what I have found since leaving student life and entering the world of full time work I literally cannot be bothered to cook proper meals. I still do on the odd occasion but it’s a rarity. The logic behind this is fuelled by the fact that I can’t be arsed to prepare food to be cooked for 15 minutes then cook for 40 minutes then sit down and eat. Too much effort. Discovering the beauty of being able to chuck a pizza or a Pasta Bake for 4 people from Tesco’s in the oven for 20 minutes and all I have to do is remove a plastic wrap around it, I think it’s obvious which one I prefer. The one with the least effort but also the least time in the oven.

I’d like to say that in my quest to try and remain the slightest bit healthy has worked a charm but undoubtedly I think I am going through a delayed student diet phase in my life and do you know what… I love every bit of it. Extra cheese on everything, double the meat quantity, barely any vegetables… So ultimately I don’t know if this is just a 3 year period or whether this is permanent. Can’t imagine my future wife approving of my diet choice but then again my response will probably be along the lines of “get busy eating”… Hmm now does that mean I’d tell her to eat and gain weight or me just continuing to eat as much as I want and continue to be unhealthy… Hmm I dunno. You be the judge

Done.

Leave a Reply

